Florida Leads The Nations in Car Accidents Involving Uninsured Motorists
When car accidents and injuries occur, your expenses can add up quickly. In addition to doctor and hospital bills stemming from your injuries and the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle, you may be suffering lost wages due to being unable to work. Accident victims often count on the at fault driver’s insurance company to pay for their damages. Unfortunately, even though Florida law requires a mandatory minimum amount of coverage, our state leads the nation in the number of uninsured drivers on the road.
Florida Insurance Requirements and Uninsured Motorists
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles advises that all drivers in the state are required to maintain car insurance coverage, or risk having their license suspended. The state minimum mandatory amount includes:
- $10,000/Personal Injury Protection (PIP): This is a form of no-fault insurance, which covers you for injuries, regardless of who is to blame for your accident. It also covers certain passengers who do not carry their own insurance, and covers you if you are injured in a car accident while a passenger in someone else’s vehicle.
- $10,000/Property Damage Liability (PDL): This covers any damages you or other family members cause to someone’s vehicle or other property as the result of a car accident.
The above types and amounts are only the minimum the state requires, and many drivers carry more than the $10,000 limit and have additional types of insurance. Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) insurance covers you in the event a car accident you are responsible for results in severe injuries or death, or if you are sued by another driver. Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM) coverage protects you in the event of an accident with other drivers who do not have coverage or lack the amount necessary to cover your damages.
UM insurance is a smart idea for drivers in the Sunshine State. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), Florida is ranked second highest in the nation for uninsured drivers, with close to one quarter of all motorists on the road in the state lacking even the minimum amount of insurance.
Compensation For Car Accident Injuries
When car accidents occur involving uninsured drivers, you have the following options in seeking compensation for your injuries:
- File a claim through your own policy: Depending on your policy and the amount of coverage you have, your own insurance may cover a portion of the medical costs and lost wages you suffer as the result of an accident.
- File a personal injury lawsuit against the at fault driver: Depending on the circumstances surrounding your accident, you may be able to seek damages by filing a lawsuit in court. Judgment amounts awarded in your case may be enforced through property liens, levies, and wage garnishment against the at fault party.
In cases involving uninsured motorists, it is important to have an experienced Florida car accident attorney on your side to ensure you get the compensation you are entitled to. Call or contact the Wexler Law Firm, P.A. online today to request a free consultation in our West Palm Beach office.